Click here to edit subtitle

European Cup Winners Cup Finals

Here you will find sets dedicated to the Winners of the European Cup Winners Cup which ran from 1961 to 1999.

The TRADINGCARDS1966 watermark will not be on the cards you receive.

Each 18 card set is £5.00

1963 - Tottenham Hotspur

Tottenham Hotspur became the first English team to win a Europe Trophy when they beat Athletico Madrid of Spain 5-1 in Rotterdam, Holland. Jimmy Greaves and Terry Dyson both scored two goals each while John White scored the other. 

1965 - West Ham United

West Ham United of England, led by Bobby Moore, faced 1860 Munich of West Germany at Wembley, London, for the trophy. Two goals from Alan Sealey were enough to give the Hammers victory.

1970 - Manchester City

Manchester City of England faced Polish side Gornik Zabrze in Vienna, Austria and goals from Neil Young and Francis Lee saw them gain a 2-1 victory.

1971 - Chelsea

A goal from Peter Osgood earned English cup winners Chelsea a replay against Real Madrid of Spain in Piraeus, Greece. In the replay at the same stadium Chelsea triumphed 2-1 with a goal from John Dempsey and another from Osgood.

1972 - Glasgow Rangers

Scottish Cup winners Glasgow Rangers met Dynamo Moscow of Russia in Barcelona, Spain, for the trophy. A goal from Colin Stein and two from Willie Johnston were enough to halt a Dynamo fightback in Ranger's 3-2 victory.

1976 - Anderlecht

In a classic final Anderlecht of Belgium ran out 4-2 winners over West Ham United of England in Brussels. Two goals apiece from Robbie Rensenbrink and Francois van der Elst were too much for the Hammers.

1983 - Aberdeen

On a thrilling night in Gothenburg, Sweden, Aberdeen of Scotland beat Real Madrid of Spain with a goal from Eric Black and a sensational Extra time winner from John Hewitt.

1985 - Everton

Everton of England ran out 3-1 winners over Rapid Vienna of Austria in Rotterdam, Holland with goals from Andy Gray, Trevor Steven and Kevin Sheedy.

1989 - Barcelona

Barcelona of Spain met Sampdoria of Italy n Bern Switzerland for the trophy.

Barcelona won 2-0 with an early goal from Julio Salinas and a late strike from Luis Rekarte.

1990 - Sampdoria

Italian cup winners Sampdoria faced Belgian side Anderlecht in Gothenburg, Sweden, for the trophy and two extra time goals from Gianluca Vialli were enough to win the match.

1991 - Manchester United

Manchester United of England faced Barcelona of Spain in Rotterdam, Holland, for the trophy and two goals from Mark Hughes were enough in a 2-1 victory.

1992 - Werder Bremen

Werder Bremen of Germany met Monaco of France in Lisbon, Portugal, to contest the trophy. Goals from Klaus Allofs and Wynton Rufer were enough for a 2-0 victory.

1993 - Parma

Parma of Italy faced Antwerp of Belgium at Wembley in London for the 1993 trophy. The Italians proved to be too strong and goals from Lorenzo Minotti, Alessandro Melli and Stefano Cuoghi gave them the trophy in a 3-1 win.

1994 - Arsenal

An early goal from Alan Smith was enough for Arsenal of England to win the trophy against Parma of Italy in Copenhagen, Denmark

1995 - Real Zaragoza

Real Zaragoza of Spain faced holders Arsenal of England in Paris and were taken to extra time after John Hartson had cancelled out Juan Esnaider's opener. The game looked to be heading to penalties when Nayim hit a tremendous strike to win the game in the last minute.

1996 - Paris Saint-Germain

Paris SG of France met Rapid Vienna of Austria in Brussels in this final and a single goal from Bruno N'Gotty was enough to win the cup for the French side.

1997 - Barcelona

Barcelona of Spain met Paris Saint-Germain of France in Rotterdam, Holland, to contest the trophy. The match was decided by a single goal from Ronaldo.

1998 - Chelsea

Chelsea became the only English team to win the trophy twice when they beat Stuttgart of Germany in Stockholm, Sweden. Gianfranco came on as a late substitute to score the only goal of the game.

1999 - Lazio

In the last ever European Cup Winners Cup final Lazio of Italy faced Mallorca of Spain in Birmingham England. Goals from Christian Vieri and Pavel Nedved won the trophy for the Italians.